Introducing Pain of Evolution

I’m excited! –The understatement of 2010…

This weekend is the debut of my bass-playing career.  I’ve done a few minor things in front of crowds but not an official show.  Nothing of this magnitude.  I lucked out getting hooked up with this crew by chance, thanks to a fateful craigslist ad which I posted less than 2 months ago.

I started playing the bass approximately 2 years ago and have been picking it up quickly, thanks to a background in piano spanning a solid decade of my childhood.

It all culminates this coming Sunday, February 14th, at the House of Bricks when we take the stage for the all-ages Valentine’s Day Massacre.  Doors open at 5:00 — $5 or $8 for couples, so bring a special someone along  😉  But this is not the light at the end of the tunnel for me;  this is just the beginning!

The new band is hard to describe.  Pain of Evolution is a little bit of a hybrid metal band.  Their sound is self-described as ‘groove metal’ & it will definitely get your adrenaline pumping.  Incorporating jazz rhythms & blues riffs in with a flat out crunchy dose of slam grooves makes for a truly unique, high-energy show.

If I may briefly introduce my partners in crime:

Our vocalist, Gabe, has a good deal of experience with gigging bands.  When he gets going, he will send chills through your spine!  He is truly …THE VOICE… of P.o.E.

KC is like a calculated hailstorm.  The first thing you notice about his drums is they are exceptionally LOUD; but once you get past that, you realize he backs it up with an abundant talent that is hard to duplicate.

Todd, our guitarist, was more or less born with a guitar in his hooves.  To this day, he strives to get better, which to me is impressive since he is nothing short of a PHENOM.  P.o.E. playing shows without a bass player before I joined the band & he is truly a one-man show.  Prepare to be blown away!

So help support original local music &  spread the word… I really hope to see you at the show!  Please be sure to track me down and say hi.

Benny – Bentoons – the Bass Monster of Pain of Evolution

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

